Race to the poll is on


The DA romped home to a resounding victory in the northern suburbs in the 2011 municipal poll, but only time will tell if the party can repeat this performance in a changed political landscape come election day on Wednesday August 3.

The DA has nominated three new ward candidates for wards 10, 21 and 105, which covers some areas in Bellville and Durbanville. (“Election fever on the rise,” Northern News, June 16).

The DA managed a clean sweep in the 2011 election by winning wards 2,3,9,10,21,70, 103 and 105. (“DA scores major victory in northern suburbs,” Tygertalk, May 26 2011).

While the DA has held the reins in Bellville and Durbanville, other parties including the ACDP, EFF and ANC will be looking to unseat it.

From page 1

The DA’s new Ward 10 candidate Jacoline Visser was born in Namibia.

She served as a proportional councillor in Ward 22 since 2011 and was part of the social development and early childhood development portfolio in council. Ms Visser said her first priority would be to compile an inclusive plan for the area.

“Crime and illegal dumping are currently two of the priority issues in the ward,” she said.

She wants to set up street committees and reinstate neighbourhood watches to fight crime.

Also vying for Ward 10 are the ANC’s Patricia Visser, the ACDP’s Demetrius Dudley and the EFF’s Jacqueline Isaacs.

The DA has nominated Sub-council 3 chairman Taki Amira to replace Theresa Usy for Ward 21.

Ms Uys took 96.06 percent of the votes in 2011. Mr Amira was founding chairman of the Durbanville Community Forum (1997 to 2002) and former chairman of Kenridge The Hills Ratepayers’ Association (1995 to 2009). He is the current chairman of the Durbanville Heritage Society.

Mr Amira describes Ward 21 as a mainly residential area with two pockets of retail and commercial business.

“Like most wards, the main issues are security,” he said.

Mr Amira will contest the ward with the ANC’s Michael Pawule, the ACDP’s Ockert Groenewald and the EFF’s Vathiswa Ngebulana.

Another newcomer is DA Ward 105 candidate Ruan Beneke, from Durbanville, who replaces Justin Basson.

Mr Beneke is proportional councillor in the metro and is on the community services portfolio committee.

“The ward is unique in that it is geographically a third of the whole Cape Town Metro, thus, bringing about many different communities, each with their own needs,” he said.

Top challenges included uplifting Fisantekraal; addressing Goedemoed, Durmont and Vierlanden’s security concerns; bringing social and economic opportunities to Philadelphia and respecting Durbanville’s heritage.

He will go up against the ANC’s Nosiyabonga Moya, the ACDP’s Gerald Silieur and the EFF’s Setjhaba Kolanchu.

DA councillor Leonora van der Walt will stand again in Ward 2, also contested by the ANC’s Johannes Louw and the EFF’s Nosipho Kunene.

In Ward 3, the ANC’s Sean Petoors, the ACDP’s Edmund Jones and the EFF’s Palesa Mvinjelwa will go up against current DA councillor Brendan van der Merwe.

The DA’s Andrea Crous was re-elected to Ward 70 and will go up against the the ANC’s Lazola Gungxe, the ACDP’s André Vercuiel and the EFF’s Sisanda Nyamela.

Ward 103 DA councillor and Sub-council 7 chairman Gerhard Fourie will be challenged by the ANC’s Aldora du Plooy and the EFF’s Nosiphiwo Mcilongo. All parties have nominated candidates for the new ward, 112, which comprises of D’urbanvale (formerly Ward 105), Durbanville CBD, Sonstraal Heights and Morningstar. The candidates include, the DA’s Theresa Uys (former Ward 21 councillor), the ANC’s Zane Williams, the ACDP’s Harm Engelbrecht and the EFF’s Zolani Mafuya.